Patrick Autréaux

Se survivre

Survive

March 1, 2013
Literature
80 pages
140 × 215 mm
10 €
9782864327172
978-2-8643-2717-2
																Patrick Autréaux, Se survivre
																Patrick Autréaux, Se survivre

My first big trip was to Vietnam.
There, I had bonded with a dissident poet. Several times, I tried to write his story. Without succeeding.
Illness is also a journey, we repeat.
It is an illusion to believe that in a room one remembers one’s life, and I doubt that at the moment of death one remembers everything in an accelerated way.
There are memories that do not have the strength to accompany us to the end, we can only take very little luggage with us. And from a certain point on, which is not yet death, none. Others have talked about this point. I feel close to them now. My brothers, yes, my brothers. Like that old poet.
There are also memories that tell us what to do.
In my island, it’s the promise to that old man that bothers me the most. Guilt or the desire to be at peace: if I have to die soon, I tell myself, at least I’ve been able to do that…

The author

Patrick Autréaux was born in 1968.
While studying medicine and anthropology, he wrote poetry and contemporary art criticism. He collaborates on several catalogues of abstract geometric art collections (museums of Cambrai, Mâcon and Cateau-Cambrésis). He decides to stop his practice of emergency psychiatry in 2006.
After a triptych on the experience of illness, In the Valley of Tears (UIT Books), Soigner (Gallimard) and Se survivre (Verdier), he published a novel, Les irréguliers (Gallimard) and a work of theatre, Le grand vivant (Verdier), which premiered in 2015 at the Avignon Festival. Published in 2017, his story La voie écrite (Verdier) traces a path between medicine and literature. A stage adaptation of his story Le dedans des choses was premiered at La rose des vents (Villeneuve d’Asq) in October 2017.
He has been awarded the Villa Yourcenar (2011), the CNL (2010 and 2017), the Paris-Québec scholarship (2012), the Prix Amic de l’Académie française (2012), as well as the Fondation des Treilles author’s residency award (2015) and the Coupleux-Lassalle award (2016).
Author in residence at Boston University in 2018 and 2019, and visiting scholar at MIT in 2018, he created the seminar Through a writer’s eye.
With the publication of the American translation of In the Valley of Tears (UIT Books, 2019), Quand la parole attend la nuit (Verdier, 2019) inaugurates a new cycle in his work (selection for the December and Femina prizes).
He lives between Paris and Cambridge (MA, USA).
His next novel, Pussyboy, will be published in March 2021 by Verdier Editions.

March 1, 2013
Literature
80 pages
140 × 215 mm
10 €
9782864327172
978-2-8643-2717-2

Patrick Autréaux

Se survivre

1 mars 2013
Littérature
80 pages
140 × 215 mm
10 €
9782864327172
978-2-8643-2717-2
																Patrick Autréaux, Se survivre
																Patrick Autréaux, Se survivre

Mon premier grand voyage, c’est au Vietnam que je l’avais fait.
Là-bas, je m’étais lié à un poète dissident. Plusieurs fois, j’ai tenté d’écrire son histoire. Sans y parvenir.
La maladie est aussi un voyage, répète-t-on.
Il est illusoire de croire que dans une chambre on se souvient de sa vie, et je doute qu’au moment de mourir on se remémore tout en accéléré.
Il y a des souvenirs qui n’ont pas la force de nous accompagner jusqu’au bout, on ne peut prendre que très peu de bagages avec soi. Et à partir d’un certain point, qui n’est pas encore la mort, plus aucun. Ce point-là, d’autres en ont parlé. Je me sens proche d’eux désormais. Mes frères, oui, mes frères. Comme ce vieux poète.
Il y a aussi des souvenirs qui indiquent ce qu’on doit faire.
Dans mon île, c’est la promesse à ce vieil homme qui me taraude surtout. Culpabilité ou désir d’être en paix : si je dois mourir bientôt, me dis-je, qu’au moins j’aie pu accomplir cela…

L’auteur

Patrick Autréaux est né en 1968.
Parallèlement à des études de médecine et d’anthropologie, il écrit de la poésie et des critiques d’art contemporain. Il collabore à plusieurs catalogues de collections d’art géométrique abstrait (musées de Cambrai, Mâcon et du Cateau-Cambrésis). Il décide d’arrêter sa pratique de psychiatrie d’urgence en 2006.
Après un triptyque sur l’expérience de la maladie, Dans la vallée des larmes, Soigner (Gallimard) et Se survivre (Verdier), il a publié un roman, Les irréguliers (Gallimard) et une œuvre de théâtre, Le grand vivant (Verdier), créée en 2015 au festival d’Avignon. Paru en 2017, son récit La voix écrite (Verdier) retrace un cheminement entre médecine et littérature. Une adaptation scénique de son récit Le dedans des choses a été créée à La Rose des vents (Villeneuve d’Asq) en octobre 2017.
Il a été lauréat de la Villa Yourcenar (2011), du CNL (2010 et 2017), de la bourse Paris-Québec (2012), du prix Amic de l’Académie française (2012), ainsi que du prix de la résidence d’auteur de la Fondation des Treilles (2015) et du prix Coupleux-Lassalle (2016).
Auteur en résidence à l’université de Boston en 2018 et 2019, et visiting scholar at MIT en 2018, il crée le séminaire Through a writer’s eye.
Alors que paraît la traduction américaine de Dans la vallée des larmes (UIT Books, 2019), Quand la parole attend la nuit (Verdier, 2019) inaugure un cycle nouveau dans son travail (sélection des prix Décembre et Femina). Il vit entre Paris et Cambridge (MA, USA).

1 mars 2013
Littérature
80 pages
140 × 215 mm
10 €
9782864327172
978-2-8643-2717-2