Patrick Autréaux

Pussyboy

March 4, 2021
Novel
128 pages
140 × 220 mm
14 €
9782378560881
978-2-3785-6088-1
																Patrick Autréaux, Pussyboy
																Patrick Autréaux, Pussyboy

“This book is as honest as it is imaginative—at last a sex memoir that explores religion, the history of painting, history itself!—and that finds in sex the connective tissue of all our experience.”
—Edmund White

Zakaria comes when he wants, and leaves when he wants. He is the unpredictable lover, but he brings something unique. Not quite love and not just sex. The one-night stand has gradually become an affair that hides but lasts. Until the religious ban and ghosts get involved. And the complicity becomes infected. What kind of relationship should be invented so as not to lose everything?
Under the triviality or mechanics of the sexual act, isn’t there a hidden river where everything rolls with revolting mysteries? Beyond the inevitable transports of love and frustrations, it is this unnoticed river that tries to find this tale that could be described as erotic.

Pussyboy is not a book about homosexual sexuality but about the confusion of identities in the experience of the body. It is also perhaps the trace of an imaginary that seeks the moment of its white square; that is to say, of what censors or cannot be represented, and whose body opens the unknown door in us. (PA)

The author

Patrick Autréaux was born in 1968.
While studying medicine and anthropology, he wrote poetry and contemporary art criticism. He collaborates on several catalogues of abstract geometric art collections (museums of Cambrai, Mâcon and Cateau-Cambrésis). He decides to stop his practice of emergency psychiatry in 2006.
After a triptych on the experience of illness, In the Valley of Tears (UIT Books), Soigner (Gallimard) and Se survivre (Verdier), he published a novel, Les irréguliers (Gallimard) and a work of theatre, Le grand vivant (Verdier), which premiered in 2015 at the Avignon Festival. Published in 2017, his story La voie écrite (Verdier) traces a path between medicine and literature. A stage adaptation of his story Le dedans des choses was premiered at La rose des vents (Villeneuve d’Asq) in October 2017.
He has been awarded the Villa Yourcenar (2011), the CNL (2010 and 2017), the Paris-Québec scholarship (2012), the Prix Amic de l’Académie française (2012), as well as the Fondation des Treilles author’s residency award (2015) and the Coupleux-Lassalle award (2016).
Author in residence at Boston University in 2018 and 2019, and visiting scholar at MIT in 2018, he created the seminar Through a writer’s eye.
With the publication of the American translation of In the Valley of Tears (UIT Books, 2019), Quand la parole attend la nuit (Verdier, 2019) inaugurates a new cycle in his work (selection for the December and Femina prizes).
He lives between Paris and Cambridge (MA, USA).
His next novel, Pussyboy, will be published in March 2021 by Verdier Editions.

March 4, 2021
Novel
128 pages
140 × 220 mm
14 €
9782378560881
978-2-3785-6088-1

Patrick Autréaux

Pussyboy

4 mars 2021
Roman
128 pages
140 × 220 mm
14 €
9782378560881
978-2-3785-6088-1
Patrick Autréaux, Pussyboy
Patrick Autréaux, Pussyboy

« Ce livre est aussi honnête qu’imaginatif – enfin un “sex memoir” qui explore la religion, l’histoire de la peinture, l’histoire elle-même ! – et qui trouve dans la sexualité le liant de toutes nos expériences. »
—Edmund White

Zakaria vient quand il veut, et s’en va à sa guise. C’est l’amant imprévisible, mais qui apporte quelque chose d’unique. Pas tout à fait l’amour et pas seulement le sexe. La rencontre d’un soir est peu à peu devenue une liaison qui se cache mais qui dure. Jusqu’à ce que l’interdit religieux et les fantômes s’en mêlent. Et que la complicité se grippe. Quelle relation inventer alors pour ne pas tout perdre ?
Sous la trivialité ou la mécanique de l’acte sexuel, n’y a-t-il pas une rivière cachée où tout roule avec des mystères révoltants ? Au-delà des transports amoureux et frustrations inévitables, c’est cette rivière inaperçue que tente de retrouver ce récit qu’on pourrait qualifier d’érotique.

Pussyboy n’est pas un livre sur la sexualité homosexuelle mais sur la confusion des identités dans l’expérience du corps. C’est aussi peut-être le tracé d’un imaginaire qui cherche le moment de son carré blanc ; c’est-à-dire de ce qui censure ou ne peut se représenter, et dont le corps ouvre en nous la porte inconnue. (PA)

L’auteur

Patrick Autréaux est né en 1968.
Parallèlement à des études de médecine et d’anthropologie, il écrit de la poésie et des critiques d’art contemporain. Il collabore à plusieurs catalogues de collections d’art géométrique abstrait (musées de Cambrai, Mâcon et du Cateau-Cambrésis). Il décide d’arrêter sa pratique de psychiatrie d’urgence en 2006.
Après un triptyque sur l’expérience de la maladie, Dans la vallée des larmes, Soigner (Gallimard) et Se survivre (Verdier), il a publié un roman, Les irréguliers (Gallimard) et une œuvre de théâtre, Le grand vivant (Verdier), créée en 2015 au festival d’Avignon. Paru en 2017, son récit La voix écrite (Verdier) retrace un cheminement entre médecine et littérature. Une adaptation scénique de son récit Le dedans des choses a été créée à La Rose des vents (Villeneuve d’Asq) en octobre 2017.
Il a été lauréat de la Villa Yourcenar (2011), du CNL (2010 et 2017), de la bourse Paris-Québec (2012), du prix Amic de l’Académie française (2012), ainsi que du prix de la résidence d’auteur de la Fondation des Treilles (2015) et du prix Coupleux-Lassalle (2016).
Auteur en résidence à l’université de Boston en 2018 et 2019, et visiting scholar at MIT en 2018, il crée le séminaire Through a writer’s eye.
Alors que paraît la traduction américaine de Dans la vallée des larmes (UIT Books, 2019), Quand la parole attend la nuit (Verdier, 2019) inaugure un cycle nouveau dans son travail (sélection des prix Décembre et Femina).Il vit entre Paris et Cambridge (MA, USA).

4 mars 2021
Roman
128 pages
140 × 220 mm
14 €
9782378560881
978-2-3785-6088-1