Patrick Autréaux

Quand la parole attend la nuit

When the Word Waits for the Night

August 1, 2019
Novel
176 pages
140 × 220 mm
15 €
9782378560287
978-2-3785-6028-7

Collection “Jaune”

Patrick Autréaux, Quand la parole attend la nuit
Patrick Autréaux, Quand la parole attend la nuit

“For a long time, I have wanted to shed light on the intimate side that medical studies, and especially the practice of emergency medicine, can be when borders are pushed and one becomes aware of what it means to be human.
In sketching this mandala of the night, I wrote a novel about love. To write you have to be a little short-sighted. Otherwise you miss your target. A book is this other world that we discover without having looked for it.”
— Patrick Autréaux

In this time between the fall of the Berlin Wall and the Twin Towers, there was an era, ending the last century, that seemed to many to be in abeyance.
Solal was then studying medicine. But his youth is worried. Witnessing parents tearing each other apart, he too knows the joys and disillusions of first love. Having become an intern at the psychiatric emergency room, he learns over the course of the nights on call to listen, to no longer be afraid, to accept his helplessness at times.

A novel of apprenticeship, of initiation into love, When the Word Waits for the Night illuminates the meanders of this labyrinth where one becomes aware that one is much more than oneself.

The author

Patrick Autréaux was born in 1968.
While studying medicine and anthropology, he wrote poetry and contemporary art criticism. He collaborates on several catalogues of abstract geometric art collections (museums of Cambrai, Mâcon and Cateau-Cambrésis). He decides to stop his practice of emergency psychiatry in 2006.
After a triptych on the experience of illness, In the Valley of Tears (UIT Books), Heal (Gallimard) and Survive (Verdier), he published a novel, The Irregulars (Gallimard) and a work of theatre, The Great Living (Verdier), which premiered in 2015 at the Avignon Festival. Published in 2017, his story The Written Voice (Verdier) traces a path between medicine and literature. A stage adaptation of his story Inside of Things was premiered at La rose des vents (Villeneuve d’Asq) in October 2017.
He has been awarded the Villa Yourcenar (2011), the CNL (2010 and 2017), the Paris-Québec scholarship (2012), the Prix Amic de l’Académie française (2012), as well as the Fondation des Treilles author’s residency award (2015) and the Coupleux-Lassalle award (2016).
Author in residence at Boston University in 2018 and 2019, and visiting scholar at MIT in 2018, he created the seminar Through a writer’s eye.
With the publication of the American translation of In the Valley of Tears (UIT Books, 2019), When the Word Waits for the Night (Verdier, 2019) inaugurates a new cycle in his work (selection for the December and Femina prizes).
He lives between Paris and Cambridge (MA, USA).
His next novel, Pussyboy, will be published in March 2021 by Verdier Editions.

Bibliography

In the Valley of Tears (OE) (2009), Heal (2010), Inside of Things (2012), Survive (2013), The Irregulars (2014), The Great Living (2016), Thérèse of Lisieux (2017), The Written Voice (2017), In the Valley of Tears (2017), Pussyboy (2021)

August 1, 2019
Novel
176 pages
140 × 220 mm
15 €
9782378560287
978-2-3785-6028-7

Collection “Jaune”

Patrick Autréaux

Quand la parole attend la nuit

1 août 2019
Roman
176 pages
140 × 220 mm
15 €
9782378560287
978-2-3785-6028-7

Collection « Jaune »

																Patrick Autréaux, Quand la parole attend la nuit
																Patrick Autréaux, Quand la parole attend la nuit

« Depuis longtemps, je voulais éclairer le versant intime que peuvent être des études de médecine, et surtout la pratique des urgences, quand les frontières sont bousculées et que l’on prend conscience de ce que signifie être humain.
En esquissant ce mandala de la nuit, j’ai écrit un roman sur l’amour. Pour écrire il faut être un peu myope. Sinon on manque sa cible. Un livre est cet autre monde qu’on découvre sans l’avoir cherché. »
— Patrick Autréaux

Dans cet entre-temps qui sépare la chute du mur de Berlin et celle des Twin Towers, il y eut une époque, bouclant le siècle dernier, qui aura semblé à beaucoup en suspens.
Solal fait alors ses études de médecine. Mais sa jeunesse est inquiète. Témoin de parents qui se déchirent, il connaît lui aussi les joies et désillusions du premier amour. Devenu interne aux urgences psychiatriques, il apprend au fil des nuits de garde à écouter, à ne plus avoir peur, à accepter parfois son impuissance.

Roman d’apprentissage, d’initiation amoureuse, Quand la parole attend la nuit éclaire les méandres de ce labyrinthe où l’on prend conscience que l’on est bien plus que soi.

L’auteur

Patrick Autréaux est né en 1968.
Parallèlement à des études de médecine et d’anthropologie, il écrit de la poésie et des critiques d’art contemporain. Il collabore à plusieurs catalogues de collections d’art géométrique abstrait (musées de Cambrai, Mâcon et du Cateau-Cambrésis). Il décide d’arrêter sa pratique de psychiatrie d’urgence en 2006.
Après un triptyque sur l’expérience de la maladie, Dans la vallée des larmes, Soigner (Gallimard) et Se survivre (Verdier), il a publié un roman, Les irréguliers (Gallimard) et une œuvre de théâtre, Le grand vivant (Verdier), créée en 2015 au festival d’Avignon. Paru en 2017, son récit La voix écrite (Verdier) retrace un cheminement entre médecine et littérature. Une adaptation scénique de son récit Le dedans des choses a été créée à La Rose des vents (Villeneuve d’Asq) en octobre 2017.
Il a été lauréat de la Villa Yourcenar (2011), du CNL (2010 et 2017), de la bourse Paris-Québec (2012), du prix Amic de l’Académie française (2012), ainsi que du prix de la résidence d’auteur de la Fondation des Treilles (2015) et du prix Coupleux-Lassalle (2016).
Auteur en résidence à l’université de Boston en 2018 et 2019, et visiting scholar at MIT en 2018, il crée le séminaire Through a writer’s eye.
Alors que paraît la traduction américaine de Dans la vallée des larmes (UIT Books, 2019), Quand la parole attend la nuit (Verdier, 2019) inaugure un cycle nouveau dans son travail (sélection des prix Décembre et Femina).Il vit entre Paris et Cambridge (MA, USA).

1 août 2019
Roman
176 pages
140 × 220 mm
15 €
9782378560287
978-2-3785-6028-7

Collection « Jaune »