Yan Morvan

Pigalle

October 29, 2020
Fine Books
224 pages
220 × 305 mm
55 €
9782358876841
978-2-3588-7684-1
																Yan Morvan, Pigalle
																Yan Morvan, Pigalle

Yan Morvan is recognized as one of the great contemporary specialists in war photography, which constitutes his first reportages. He collaborated with Libération, member of Sipa Press, permanent correspondent of the American weekly Newsweek, he covered the main conflicts in the world. Periodically, he returns to France and makes reports on the margins of society.

In 1994, he dedicated himself to an immersion in Pigalle, its cabarets, sex shops and other exchange clubs. He brings back portraits of characters of the night, color or black and white images of the reverse side of the set, the fringe of the sidewalks where men and women come to seek the thrill of transgression in the night.

The author

Yan Morvan has been reporting on the black jackets of Paris since his start in 1970, the beginning of a long work on gangs that will last more than forty years. A member of Sipa Press, a freelance photographer, he won the Robert Capa prize in 1983, two World Press Photo awards in 1984 and numerous awards from American journalism schools. He regularly collaborates with most of the major international publications. In 2013 he published Gang story at La Manufacture du livre, a book that was banned after its publication, and then Blousons noirs in 2016. He is the author of Reporter de guerre at La Martinière in 2012 and Champs de bataille in 2015 at Photosynthèse.

Strong points

138 photos, most of them unpublished, including 40 in color.

A great name in photography, winner of the Robert Capa Award.

October 29, 2020
Fine Books
224 pages
220 × 305 mm
55 €
9782358876841
978-2-3588-7684-1

Yan Morvan

Pigalle

29 octobre 2020
Beaux livres
224 pages
220 × 305 mm
55 €
9782358876841
978-2-3588-7684-1
																Yan Morvan, Pigalle
																Yan Morvan, Pigalle

Yan Morvan est reconnu comme l’un des grands spécialistes contemporains de la photo de guerre, qui constitue ses premiers reportages. Il collabore à Libération puis, membre de Sipa Press, correspondant permanent de l’hebdomadaire américain Newsweek, il couvrira les principaux conflits dans le monde. Périodiquement, il revient en France et réalise des reportages sur les marges de la société.

En 1994, il se consacre à une immersion à Pigalle, ses cabarets, ses sex shops et autres boîtes échangistes. Il en ramène des portraits de personnages de la nuit, des images en couleurs ou noir et blanc de l’envers du décor, des marginaux des trottoirs où se pressent hommes et femmes venus chercher le frisson de la transgression dans la nuit.

L’auteur

Yan Morvan effectue dès ses débuts en 1970 des reportages sur les blousons noirs de Paris, début d’un long travail sur les gangs qui durera plus de quarante ans. Membre de Sipa Press, photographe indépendant, il est lauréat du prix Robert Capa en 1983, de deux prix du World Press Photo en 1984 et de nombreuses récompenses décernées par les écoles de journalisme américaines. Il collabore régulièrement avec la plupart des grandes publications internationales. Il a publié en 2013 Gang story à la Manufacture de livres, livre interdit après sa parution, puis Blousons noirs en 2016. Il est l’auteur de Reporter de guerre à La Martinière en 2012 et Champs de bataille en 2015 chez Photosynthèse.

Points forts

138 photos, pour la plupart inédites, dont 40 en couleurs.

Un grand nom de la photographie, lauréat du prix Robert Capa.

29 octobre 2020
Beaux livres
224 pages
220 × 305 mm
55 €
9782358876841
978-2-3588-7684-1