Isabelle Cousteaux

De la belle aube au triste soir

A French Family in Algeria, 1830 - 1962

From the Beautiful Dawn to the Sad Night

A French Family in Algeria, 1830 - 1962
May 6, 2021
Documentary
400 pages
175 × 247 mm
22 €
9782358876957
978-2-3588-7695-7

“Documents” collection

																Isabelle Cousteaux, De la belle aube au triste soir
																Isabelle Cousteaux, De la belle aube au triste soir

There is no life that is not inextricably intertwined with our collective history. This book traces the history of a French family in Algeria over five generations, from the conquest of the country by France in 1830 to the return to metropolitan Algeria after independence in 1962. At the heart of this story, Léa and Georges Mauriès, a schoolteacher and farmer who are proponents of dialogue between communities, will see their lives turned upside down in 1957 when Georges is the victim of a political assassination.
For Léa, a woman with such a special personality, another story begins.

Through this investigation, Isabelle Cousteaux invites us to delve into the memories of these destinies shattered by history: interviews, extracts from correspondence, minutes, poetry and photographs. Great history and intimate lives mingle to give us the opportunity to discover the true story of a French drama.

The author

Isabelle Cousteaux was born in Eastern France and has lived in Toulouse for over 30 years. After studying art history and the medieval period, she became a journalist for a major regional daily newspaper and participated in the writing of various exhibition catalogues. She was later editor-in-chief of magazines specialising in travel, heritage and lifestyle, and then of various children’s magazines. De la belle aube au triste soir is the result of a work combining investigation, history, social and political issues and intimate and family matters.

Strong points

A book which is the fruit of many years of work and which combines the destiny of a family and the great History.

A work between narrative and historical document, as intimate and poignant as it is precise and documented.

A top-of-the-range manufacture with illustrations and cardboard cover.

The edition

30 illustrations, bound, hardback cover with wire edge.

May 6, 2021
Documentary
400 pages
175 × 247 mm
22 €
9782358876957
978-2-3588-7695-7

“Documents” collection

Isabelle Cousteaux

De la belle aube au triste soir

Une famille française en Algérie, 1830 - 1962

6 mai 2021
Documentaire
400 pages
22 €
9782358876957
978-2-3588-7695-7

Collection « Documents »

Isabelle Cousteaux, De la belle aube au triste soir
Isabelle Cousteaux, De la belle aube au triste soir

Il n’est pas de vie qui ne soit inextricablement mêlée à notre histoire collective. Ce livre retrace l’histoire d’une famille française en Algérie sur cinq générations, de la conquête du pays par la France en 1830 au retour en métropole après l’indépendance de 1962. Au cœur de ce récit, Léa et Georges Mauriès, institutrice et agriculteur partisans du dialogue entre les communautés, verront leur vie basculer en 1957 lorsque Georges est victime d’un assassinat politique.
Commence alors pour Léa, femme à la personnalité si particulière, une autre histoire.

À travers cette enquête, Isabelle Cousteaux nous invite à plonger dans les souvenirs de ces destins fracassés par l’histoire : entretiens, extraits de correspondances, procès verbaux, poésies et photographies. Grande histoire et vies intimes se mêlent pour nous donner à découvrir le roman vrai d’un drame français.

L’autrice

Isabelle Cousteaux est née dans l’Est de la France et vit à Toulouse depuis plus de 30 ans. Après avoir étudié l’histoire de l’art et la période médiévale, elle devient journaliste dans un grand quotidien régional et participe à la rédaction de divers catalogues d’exposition. Elle fut par la suite rédactrice en chef de magazines spécialisés dans le voyage, le patrimoine et l’art de vivre puis de divers magazines pour les enfants. De la belle aube au triste soir est le fruit d’un travail combinant enquête, histoire, enjeux sociaux et politiques et ressorts intimes et familiaux.

Points forts

Un livre qui est le fruit de nombreuses années de travail et qui combine le destin d’une famille et la grande Histoire.

Un ouvrage entre récit et document historique, aussi intime et poignant que précis et documenté.

Une fabrication haut-de-gamme avec illustrations et couverture cartonnée.

L’édition

30 illustrations, relié, couverture cartonnée avec tranche fil.

6 mai 2021
Documentaire
400 pages
22 €
9782358876957
978-2-3588-7695-7

Collection « Documents »