Laura Shepherd-Robinson

Blood & Sugar

May 6, 2021
Historical detective novel
600 pages
140 × 210 mm
9782264077868
978-2-2640-7786-8
Translated from English by Pascale Haas

Collection “Grands détectives”

Laura Shepherd-Robinson, Blood & Sugar
Laura Shepherd-Robinson, Blood & Sugar

London, 1781. Sugar cane has a price: that of blood.

June 1781. A body is hung from a hook on the Deptford wharf: the man was horribly tortured and bears the mark of slaves.
A few days later, Captain Harry Corsham—a war hero embarking on a promising parliamentary career—is visited by an old friend’s sister. His brother, Tad Archer, a passionate abolitionist, was on the verge of unveiling a dangerous secret with far-reaching consequences for the slave trade industry. A secret capable of abolishing slavery.

To find out what happened to Tad, Harry is forced to go back up the threads of his friend’s investigation, digging into the heart of the conspiracy that Tad had uncovered. His investigation will threaten his political prospects, the happiness of his family and force him to confront his own past, at his own risk.

The author

Born in 1976, Laura Shepherd-Robinson graduated from the University of Bristol with a degree in Political Science, specializing in 18th century political philosophy. She worked in politics for almost twenty years before returning to school, this time in creative writing. Blood & Sugar, her first novel, is the winner of the Historical Writers’ Association Debut Crown 2019. Her second novel, Daughters of Night, will be published in 2022 by 10/18.

Strong points

A first novel on the black slave trade in the United Kingdom that received rave reviews in the press.

A subject totally in tune with the times, the history of an empire built on the Slave Trade.

An ambitious book, extremely documented and totally addictive: this impressive novel devours itself like a thriller, a real page-turner, surprising and unexpected to say the least, in the middle of colonial England.

Press

“Breathtaking... Blood & Sugar is a poignant and brutal epic that shocks and shivers as well.”

L’Express.

“A novel of astonishing skill.”

Financial Times.

“A burning and ingeniously constructed story.”

The Times.

“An impassioned indictment of British involvement in the slave trade, which never neglects its duty to thrill and entertain.”

Sunday Express.

“The best Georgian plot.”

Times Crime Club.
May 6, 2021
Historical detective novel
600 pages
140 × 210 mm
9782264077868
978-2-2640-7786-8
Translated from English by Pascale Haas

Collection “Grands détectives”

Laura Shepherd-Robinson

Blood & Sugar

6 mai 2021
Roman policier historique
600 pages
140 × 210 mm
9782264077868
978-2-2640-7786-8
Traduit de l’anglais par
Pascale Haas

Collection « Grands détectives »

Laura Shepherd-Robinson, Blood & Sugar
Laura Shepherd-Robinson, Blood & Sugar

Londres, 1781. La canne à sucre a un prix : celui du sang.

Juin 1781. Un corps est pendu à un crochet sur le quai de Deptford : l’homme a été horriblement torturé et porte la marque des esclaves.
Quelques jours plus tard, le capitaine Harry Corsham – un héros de guerre se lançant dans une carrière parlementaire prometteuse – reçoit la visite de la soeur d’un vieil ami. Son frère, Tad Archer, un abolitionniste passionné, était sur le point de dévoiler un dangereux secret, lourd de conséquence pour l’industrie de la Traite négrière. Un secret capable d’abolir l’esclavage.

Pour découvrir ce qui est arrivé à Tad, Harry est obligé de remonter les fils de l’enquête de son ami, en fouillant au coeur de la conspiration que Tad avait mise au jour. Son enquête va menacer ses perspectives politiques, le bonheur de sa famille et l’obliger à affronter son propre passé, à ses risques et périls.

L’auteur

Née en 1976, Laura Shepherd-Robinson est diplômée de sciences politiques de l’université de Bristol, spécialisée en philosophie politique au XVIIIe siècle. Elle a travaillé en politique pendant près de vingt ans avant de reprendre ses études, en écriture créative cette fois. Blood & Sugar, son premier roman, est lauréat du Historical Writers’ Association Debut Crown 2019. Son second roman, Daughters of Night, paraîtra en 2022 chez 10/18.

Points forts

Un primo-roman sur la traite des noirs au Royaume-Uni qui a reçu une presse dithyrambique.

Un sujet totalement en phase avec l’époque, l’histoire d’un empire bâti sur la Traite.

Un livre ambitieux, extrêmement documenté et totalement addictif : ce roman impressionnant se dévore comme un thriller, véritable page-turner pour le moins étonnant et inattendu, en pleine Angleterre coloniale.

Presse

« Époustouflant… Blood & Sugar est une épopée poignante et brutale qui choque et fait frissonner tout autant. »

L’Express.

« Une histoire brûlante et ingénieusement construite. »

The Times.

« Un réquisitoire passionné contre l’implication britannique dans la traite des esclaves, qui ne néglige jamais son devoir de faire frissonner et de divertir. »

Sunday Express.

« La meilleure intrigue géorgienne. »

Times Crime Club.
6 mai 2021
Roman policier historique
600 pages
140 × 210 mm
9782264077868
978-2-2640-7786-8
Traduit de l’anglais par
Pascale Haas

Collection « Grands détectives »