Alexis Tchkotoua

Trufrock

April 1, 2022
Novel
160 pages
140 × 205 mm
17 €
9782823619157
978-2-8236-1915-7

“Littérature française” collection

Welcome to a very private hell. A hallucinatory and satirical first novel.

It is a journey of a very particular nature that the author of this book invites us to, which begins like a science fiction novel and ends on the side of William Burroughs (Naked Lunch).

An immobile traveler, Trufrock explores an imaginary universe made of dreams and hallucinations, which would be like the reverse of the real world. We meet a talking car, a club of eccentrics, the ghost of François Villon, a pianist with severed fingers, Pelléas and Mélisande, a mad professor and a veritable gallery of monsters.
Alluding to a famous poem by T.S. Eliot, “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock”, this story plays with all the registers of literature, from the initiation story to scatology, through allegory, the gothic tale, Shakespeare’s theater, and parody.
Through the obsessions of his hero, Alexis Tchkotoua actually portrays our era. A materialistic age, indifferent to poetry and the sacred, which can only survive by hiding behind the mask of the grotesque.

Virtuoso, erudite, unexpected, Trufrock goes against the grain of a literature subjected to realism.

The author

Of Georgian origin, Alexis Tchkotoua was born in 1979 and studied literature. Passionate about British culture—especially Shakespeare—he is a translator and lives in Paris. Trufrock is his first novel.

April 1, 2022
Novel
160 pages
140 × 205 mm
17 €
9782823619157
978-2-8236-1915-7

“Littérature française” collection

Alexis Tchkotoua

Trufrock

1 avril 2022
Roman
160 pages
140 × 205 mm
17 €
9782823619157
978-2-8236-1915-7

collection « Littérature française »

Bienvenue dans un enfer très privé. Un premier roman hallucinatoire et satirique.

C’est à un voyage d’une nature très particulière que nous invite l’auteur de ce livre, qui commence comme un roman de science-fiction et s’achève du côté de William Burroughs (Le festin nu).

Voyageur immobile, Trufrock explore un univers imaginaire fait de rêves et d’hallucinations, qui serait comme l’envers du monde réel. On y rencontre une voiture qui parle, un club d’excentriques, le fantôme de François Villon, un pianiste aux doigts coupés, Pelléas et Mélisande, un professeur fou et une véritable galerie de monstres.
Allusion à un célèbre poème de T.S. Eliot, « The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock », ce récit joue de tous les registres de la littérature, du récit initiatique à la scatologie en passant par l’allégorie, le conte gothique, le théâtre de Shakespeare, la parodie.
À travers les obsessions de son héros, Alexis Tchkotoua fait en réalité le portrait de notre époque. Une époque matérialiste, indifférente à la poésie et au sacré, lesquels ne pourraient désormais survivre qu’en se dissimulant sous le masque du grotesque.

Virtuose, érudit, inattendu, Trufrock s’inscrit à contre-courant d’une littérature soumise au réalisme.

L’auteur

D’origine géorgienne, Alexis Tchkotoua est né en 1979 et a fait des études de lettres. Passionné par la culture britannique – en particulier Shakespeare –, il est traducteur et vit à Paris. Trufrock est son premier roman.

Points forts

Un roman érudit, satirique, qui plaira aux fans des Éditions Tristram, de Will Self, aux amoureux des livres audacieux et originaux.

Un texte qui refuse le réalisme et choisit l’onirisme, le panache littéraire.

1 avril 2022
Roman
160 pages
140 × 205 mm
17 €
9782823619157
978-2-8236-1915-7

collection « Littérature française »