Maria Matios

Presque jamais autrement

Hardly Ever Otherwise

May 7, 2024
Novel
184 pages
140 × 205 mm
19,90 €
9791094936320
979-1-0949-3632-0
Translated from the Ukrainian by Nikol Dziub

“Fiction Europe” collection

																Maria Matios, Presque jamais autrement
																Maria Matios, Presque jamais autrement

Hardly Ever Otherwise is a family saga set in the Ukrainian Carpathians at the beginning of the 20th century. It highlights the great passions of ordinary people, against the backdrop of the destiny of a territory martyred by successive wars and dominations.

In a remarkable style, masterfully interweaving narrative threads, Maria Matios delivers a tale, often cruel, where brothers kill each other over meager plots of land, where reckless women defy, without always challenging, the law of men who are sometimes virtuous and courageous, sometimes cowardly and powerless, and where witchcraft seems to wield real power.

Ukraine Book of the Year Award 2007
The author

An eminent figure in Ukrainian literature and a public figure, Maria Matios is one of the most prolific Ukrainian authors and is considered one of the hundred most influential women in Ukraine.
Her works have been acclaimed by critics and audiences alike, and have been translated into a variety of languages, including English, Polish, Belarusian, Serbian, Romanian, Croatian, Russian, Japanese and Chinese. She has won numerous literary awards, including Book of the Year on three occasions and Coronation of the Word, as well as the prestigious Taras-Chevchenko National Prize in 2005, the Ukrainian state’s highest literary honor.

Strong points

Discover an award-winning book.

Hardly Ever Otherwise won Book of the Year and Coronation of the Word, two of Ukraine’s most prestigious literary awards.

Read a topical book.

The book highlights the persistence of conflict and human suffering in Ukraine through the ages. In 2024, it’s still no different...

May 7, 2024
Novel
184 pages
140 × 205 mm
19,90 €
9791094936320
979-1-0949-3632-0
Translated from the Ukrainian by Nikol Dziub

“Fiction Europe” collection

Maria Matios

Presque jamais autrement

7 mai 2024
Roman
184 pages
140 × 205 mm
19,90 €
9791094936320
979-1-0949-3632-0
Traduit de l’ukrainien par
Nikol Dziub

collection « Fiction Europe »

																Maria Matios, Presque jamais autrement
																Maria Matios, Presque jamais autrement

Presque jamais autrement est une saga familiale qui se déroule dans les Carpates ukrainiennes au début du XXe siècle. Elle met en exergue les grandes passions des gens ordinaires, avec en arrière-plan le destin d’un territoire martyrisé par les guerres et les dominations successives.

Dans un style remarquable, entretissant magistralement les fils narratifs, Maria Matios livre un récit, souvent cruel, où les frères s’entretuent pour de maigres parcelles de terre, où des femmes téméraires défient, sans toujours la contester, la loi d’hommes parfois vertueux et courageux, parfois lâches et impuissants, et où la sorcellerie semble exercer un pouvoir réel.

Prix du livre de l’année en Ukraine 2007
L’autrice

Éminente figure de la littérature ukrainienne et personnalité publique, Maria Matios compte parmi les autrices ukrainiennes les plus prolifiques et est considérée comme l’une des cent femmes les plus influentes d’Ukraine.
Ses œuvres ont été saluées par les critiques et par le public et ont été traduites dans diverses langues, notamment l’anglais, le polonais, le biélorusse, le serbe, le roumain, le croate, le russe, le japonais et le chinois. Elle a été lauréate de nombreux prix littéraires, dont le Livre de l’année, à trois reprises, et le Couronnement de la parole, ainsi que du prestigieux prix national Taras-Chevtchenko en 2005, la plus haute distinction littéraire de l’État ukrainien.

Points forts

Partir à la découverte d’un livre primé.

Presque jamais autrement a reçu les distinctions du Livre de l’année et du Couronnement de la parole, deux des plus prestigieuses récompenses littéraires en Ukraine.

Lire un ouvrage d’actualité.

L’ouvrage souligne la persistance des conflits et des souffrances humaines en Ukraine à travers les époques. En 2024, ce n’est toujours pas autrement...

7 mai 2024
Roman
184 pages
140 × 205 mm
19,90 €
9791094936320
979-1-0949-3632-0
Traduit de l’ukrainien par
Nikol Dziub

collection « Fiction Europe »