Do Jinki

Le portrait de la traviata

The Portrait of Traviata

June 4, 2020
Thriller
250 pages
155 × 225 mm
19,90 €
9782491290078
978-2-4912-9007-8
Traduit du coréen par
Kyungran Choi et Delphine Bourgoin
Do Jinki, Le portrait de la traviata
Do Jinki, Le portrait de la traviata

One hypothesis after another, the inspector, guided by lawyer Gojin, examines each profile, each alibi, each scenario, down to the most fantastic. The reader gets caught up in the game and, together with Inspector Lee, tries to solve this mysterious crime.

Two dead in an apartment on the first floor of a quiet building in Seoul. The woman who lived there – a stab wound for her – and a neighbour – a punch wound for him – a hateful guy who had been hanging around her lately.
But since the main suspect lies next to the victim, the culprit must be sought elsewhere. The janitor seems to have the profile, so Detective Lee Yuhyeon completes his investigation and sends him to trial. But nothing happens as planned. The old man’s innocence is obvious, the trial is a fiasco.
It is then that in his phone, Lee Yuhyeon hears a familiar and mocking laugh, that of lawyer Gojin, the lawyer of the shadows. Yes, it will take start all over, start from the beginning. Because everyone in
this building might have some reason to have committed this double murder.

The author

Do Jinki is 49 years old. For 20 years he has been a judge at the Northern District Court of Seoul. And at the age of forty, he became a successful crime writer. In 2010 his first detective novel received the Mystery Rookie Award from the Korean Mystery Artists Association. It will be followed by nine other detective novels in two parallel series, one featuring lawyer Gojin, the other about Judge Djingi. In 2014, he wins the Korean Mystery Literary Award for his feature film, The Star of Judas. His novels have been translated in China and four of his books have been sold to production companies, who love his complex puzzles with their twists and turns. His fans have dubbed him the “John Grisham of Korea”.

Strong points

Enigma novel.

Multiple twists and turns.

Series of five novels with lawyer Gojin.

June 4, 2020
Thriller
250 pages
155 × 225 mm
19,90 €
9782491290078
978-2-4912-9007-8
Traduit du coréen par
Kyungran Choi et Delphine Bourgoin

Do Jinki

Le portrait de la traviata

4 juin 2020
Thriller
250 pages
155 × 225 mm
19,90 €
9782491290078
978-2-4912-9007-8
Traduit du coréen par
Kyungran Choi et Delphine Bourgoin
																Do Jinki, Le portrait de la traviata
																Do Jinki, Le portrait de la traviata

Une hypothèse après l’autre, l’inspecteur, guidé par l’avocat Gojin, examine chaque profil, chaque alibi, chaque scénario, jusqu’aux plus rocambolesques. Le lecteur se prend au jeu et cherche, en même temps que l’inspecteur Lee, à résoudre ce crime mystérieux.

Deux morts dans un appartement au premier étage d’un immeuble paisible de Séoul. La femme qui y habitait – un coup de couteau pour elle – et un voisin – un coup de poinçon pour lui –, un type détestable qui lui tournait autour ces derniers temps.
Mais puisque le principal suspect gît à côté de la victime, il faut chercher le coupable ailleurs. Le concierge semble avoir le profil, l’inspecteur Lee Yuhyeon boucle son enquête et l’envoie en procès. Mais rien ne se passe comme prévu. L’innocence du vieux bougre s’impose, le procès est un fiasco.
C’est alors que dans son téléphone, Lee Yuhyeon entend un rire familier et moqueur, celui de l’avocat Gojin, l’avocat de l’ombre. Oui, il faudra
tout recommencer, tout reprendre depuis le début. Car chacun dans
cet immeuble pourrait avoir quelque raison d’avoir commis ce double meurtre.

L’auteur

Do Jinki a 49 ans. Depuis 20 ans il est juge au tribunal du district nord de Séoul. Et à quarante ans, il est devenu écrivain à succès de romans policiers. En 2010 son premier polar reçoit le Mystery Rookie Award de la Korean Mystery Artists Association. Il sera suivi par neuf autres romans policiers en deux séries parallèles, l’une mettant en scène l’avocat Gojin, l’autre portant sur le juge Djingi. En 2014, il obtient le Korean Mystery Literary Award pour son long-métrage, The Star of Judas. Ses romans sont notamment traduits en Chine et quatre de ses livres ont été vendus à des sociétés de production, qui raffolent de ses énigmes complexes faisant la part belle aux rebondissements. Ses fans l’ont baptisé le « John Grisham de Corée ».

Points forts

Roman à énigmes.

Rebondissements multiples.

Série de cinq romans avec l’avocat Gojin.

4 juin 2020
Thriller
250 pages
155 × 225 mm
19,90 €
9782491290078
978-2-4912-9007-8
Traduit du coréen par
Kyungran Choi et Delphine Bourgoin