Genki Kawamura

N’oublie pas les fleurs

Don’t Forget the Flowers

September 23, 2021
Novel
130 × 200 mm
18,90 €
9782265155060
978-2-2651-5506-0
Translated from Japanese by Diane Durocher
Genki Kawamura, N’oublie pas les fleurs
Genki Kawamura, N’oublie pas les fleurs

Remembering the beautiful things...

On the evening of December 31, Izumi visits his mother Yuriko for the holidays, but she is absent. He finally finds her perched on a swing in a nearby park, where she seems lost. This event is only the first sign of the disease that is eating away at her: a few months later, he learns that she has Alzheimer’s.

As Yuriko’s memories fade, those of Izumi’s childhood resurface. As Izumi takes care of his mother—at a time when he himself is about to become a father—he tries to understand what has kept him away from her over the years, wondering about the meaning of their relationship. In order to find the essence of what remains for them now.

The author

Genki Kawamura is a writer and director. His previous novel, Deux milliards de battements de cœur published by Fleuve Éditions (Si les chats disparaissaient du monde, Pocket), sold 1.3 million copies in Japan.

Strong points

After Si les chats disparaissaient du monde, (more than 40,000 copies sold in all formats) the new novel—strong in emotion—by the Japanese star Genki Kawamura.

Inspired by a personal experience, the author tackles this time a particularly delicate subject: Alzheimer’s disease, and manages to find the right words.

N’oublie pas les fleurs is an ultra-touching novel, centered on the heartbreaking love story between a son and his condemned mother and the power of memories.

Genki Kawamura, who has already adapted his previous novel himself, is in contact with several French directors, he will be present at Cannes this year and given his international success and at home, we have not finished hearing about this author!

September 23, 2021
Novel
130 × 200 mm
18,90 €
9782265155060
978-2-2651-5506-0
Translated from Japanese by Diane Durocher

Genki Kawamura

N’oublie pas les fleurs

23 septembre 2021
Roman
304 pages
130 × 200 mm
18,90 €
9782265155060
978-2-2651-5506-0
Traduit du japonais par
Diane Durocher
Genki Kawamura, N’oublie pas les fleurs
Genki Kawamura, N’oublie pas les fleurs

Se souvenir des belles choses…

Le soir du 31 décembre, Izumi rend visite à sa mère Yuriko pour les fêtes de fin d’année, mais cette dernière est absente. Il la retrouve finalement perchée sur la balançoire d’un parc voisin, où elle semble perdue. Cet événement n’est que le premier signe de la maladie qui la ronge : quelques mois plus tard, il apprend qu’elle est atteinte d’Alzheimer.

À mesure que les souvenirs de Yuriko s’estompent, ceux de l’enfance d’Izumi ressurgissent. En prenant soin de sa mère – au moment où lui-même s’apprête à devenir père – Izumi tente de comprendre ce qui l’a éloigné d’elle au fil du temps, s’interroge sur le sens de leur relation. Pour retrouver l’essentiel de ce qui leur reste à présent.

L’auteur

Genki Kawamura est écrivain et réalisateur. Livre phénomène, son précédent roman paru chez Fleuve Éditions, Deux milliards de battements de cœur (Si les chats disparaissaient du monde chez Pocket) s’est vendu à 1,3 million d’exemplaires au Japon.

Points forts

Après Si les chats disparaissaient du monde, (plus de 40 000 ex vendus tous formats confondus) le nouveau roman – fort en émotion – de la star japonaise Genki Kawamura.

Inspiré par une expérience personnelle, l’auteur s’attaque cette fois à un sujet particulièrement délicat : la maladie d’Alzheimer, et réussit à trouver les mots justes.

N’oublie pas les fleurs est un roman ultra-touchant, centré sur l’histoire d’amour déchirante entre un fils et sa mère condamnée et le pouvoir des souvenirs.

Genki Kawamura, qui a déjà adapté lui-même son précédent roman, est en contact avec plusieurs réalisateurs français, il sera présent à Cannes cette année et compte-tenu de son succès international et chez nous, on n’a pas fini d’entendre parler de cet auteur !

23 septembre 2021
Roman
304 pages
130 × 200 mm
18,90 €
9782265155060
978-2-2651-5506-0
Traduit du japonais par
Diane Durocher