Tristan Saule

Mathilde Says Nothing

Chroniques of the Place Carrée – I

Mathilde ne dit rien

Chroniques de la place carrée – I
January 21, 2021
Noir fiction
328 pages
140 × 205 mm
20 €
9782896985494
978-2-8969-8549-4

Collection “Parallèle”

Tristan Saule, Mathilde Says Nothing
Tristan Saule, Mathilde Says Nothing

A breathless social thriller, an atypical heroine, events that will be played out in seven days, like a relentless countdown.

This first book lays the foundations for a long series. We discover some inhabitants of the Place Carrée, Mathilde of course, but also little Idriss, his uncle Lounès, or the mysterious Salim, who seems to run the affairs of the neighborhood with an iron hand. We will become familiar with the places that will be the setting of this social fresco, developed year after year, and with the gallery of characters that we will see variously evolving. A secondary character in one novel will become the hero of the next, and vice versa.

Mathilde Says Nothing takes place in 2019, while the traffic circles are occupied by the Yellow vests movement, the next book will take place in 2020, the pandemic year, and so on. Yet these events are of little importance to the inhabitants of the Place Carrée, too busy surviving, aware that they are nobody’s priority, not even the police.

With the codes of the noir novel and the thriller (suspenseful plot, violence, hard-hitting dialogues), we will discover the complex, touching destinies of characters more real than life, conceived from documentary fieldwork, in associative circles, in the corridors of the courthouse, in different socio-professional environments.

The ambition of these novels is to describe the evolution of a working-class neighborhood over several years, in a France shaken by frenetic current events. Who are the people we meet on the bus? What are their stories? What do they expect from life? These “Chronicles of the Place Carrée” aim to provide authentic, necessarily contradictory answers to these questions.

The author

Tristan Saule was born in 1978. He lives in the east of France.

Strong points

A portrait of a woman caught in a relentless spiral.

A nuanced social depiction of a France today, economically and racially divided.

Narrative mechanics increase the pressure to a crescendo.

The inaugural novel of an ambitious series that is destined to become a regular fixture.

January 21, 2021
Noir fiction
328 pages
140 × 205 mm
20 €
9782896985494
978-2-8969-8549-4

Collection “Parallèle”

Tristan Saule

Mathilde ne dit rien

Chroniques de la place carrée – I

21 janvier 2021
Roman noir
328 pages
140 × 205 mm
20 €
9782896985494
978-2-8969-8549-4

Collection « Parallèle »

																Tristan Saule, Mathilde ne dit rien
																Tristan Saule, Mathilde ne dit rien

Un thriller social haletant, une héroïne atypique, des événements qui se joueront en sept jours, comme un compte à rebours implacable.

Ce premier livre pose les bases d’une série au long cours. On y découvre quelques habitants de la place carrée, Mathilde bien sûr, mais aussi le petit Idriss, son oncle Lounès, ou encore le mystérieux Salim, qui semble diriger les affaires du quartier d’une main de fer. On se familiarisera avec des lieux qui seront le décor de cette fresque sociale, développée année après année, et avec la galerie de personnages que l’on verra diversement évoluer. Un personnage secondaire dans un roman deviendra le héros du suivant, et inversement.

Mathilde ne dit rien se déroule en 2019, alors que les ronds-points sont occupés par les gilets jaunes, le livre suivant prendra place en 2020, l’année pandémique, et ainsi de suite. Pourtant, ces événements n’ont que peu d’importance pour les habitants de la place carrée, trop occupés à survivre, conscients qu’ils ne sont la priorité de personne, pas même de la police.

Avec les codes du roman noir et du polar (intrigue à suspens, violence, dialogues percutants), on découvrira les destins complexes, touchants, de personnages plus vrais que nature, conçus à partir d’un travail de terrain documentaire, dans les milieux associatifs, dans les couloirs du palais de justice, dans différents environnements socio-professionnels.

L’ambition de ces romans, c’est de décrire l’évolution d’un quartier populaire sur plusieurs années, dans une France bousculée par une actualité frénétique. Qui sont ces personnes que l’on croise dans le bus ? Quelles sont leurs histoires ? Qu’attendent-elles de la vie ? Ces « Chroniques de la place carrée » ont pour but d’apporter à ces questions des réponses authentiques, forcément contradictoires.

L’auteur

Tristan Saule est né en 1978. Il vit dans l’est de la France.

Points forts

Le portrait d’une femme entraînée dans un engrenage implacable.

Une peinture sociale nuancée d’une France actuelle, économiquement et racialement clivée.

Une mécanique narrative qui fait monter la pression crescendo.

Le roman inaugural d’une série ambitieuse appelée à devenir un rendez-vous régulier.

21 janvier 2021
Roman noir
328 pages
140 × 205 mm
20 €
9782896985494
978-2-8969-8549-4

Collection « Parallèle »