Cory Anderson

Le fracas et le silence

What Beauty There Is

October 7, 2021
Novel
140 × 210 mm
18,90 €
9782265155442
978-2-2651-5544-2
Translated from English (USA) by Claire-Marie Clévy
																Cory Anderson, Le fracas et le silence
																Cory Anderson, Le fracas et le silence

To avoid having to give his brother up to an orphanage, Jack must learn to survive. At any cost.

It’s winter somewhere in Idaho. The sky is black and it’s bone-chillingly cold.

Eighteen-year-old Jack Morton has no hope, no future, no one to rely on. Except for his little brother Matty, for whom he would be ready to sacrifice himself. Since the death of their mother, their resources are more and more reduced. Jack has no choice but to find the dirty money that sent his father to prison to avoid sending his brother to an orphanage.

Ava is the same age. Her life is nothing but solitude, secrecy and silence. Her father, who taught her to love no one, to trust no one, is on the trail of the same loot as Jack. When the two families’ paths cross, Ava is faced with a dilemma: keep her father’s secrets or help the two brothers survive…

The author

A ranger’s daughter, Cory Anderson grew up in the Rockies. An avid reader and nature lover, she was fascinated by Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, whose theme and stark, uncompromising writing changed her life forever. What Beauty There Is is her first novel, written after many trials, alone with her two children, in the heart of the American wilderness.

Strong points

A hard-hitting novel, whose atmosphere is reminiscent of some of Gallmeister’s great commercial successes. Nature is indeed omnipresent and brings to the novel a wild tension, like in Sukwan Island or My Absolute Darling.

A publishing favorite, with a simultaneous release by Pocket Jeunesse, because it is one of those unique novels that can reach a very wide audience, like The Book Thief.

The “favorites” are piling up on social networks like Goodreads.

A very well written text, which marks, which stirs, without taking away all hope.

Deep characters, with emotions screaming of truth.

A subtle and striking love story.

October 7, 2021
Novel
140 × 210 mm
18,90 €
9782265155442
978-2-2651-5544-2
Translated from English (USA) by Claire-Marie Clévy

Cory Anderson

Le fracas et le silence

7 octobre 2021
Roman
140 × 210 mm
18,90 €
9782265155442
978-2-2651-5544-2
Traduit de l’anglais (États-Unis) par
Claire-Marie Clévy
																Cory Anderson, Le fracas et le silence
																Cory Anderson, Le fracas et le silence

Pour éviter de devoir confier son frère à un orphelinat, Jack doit apprendre à survivre. À tout prix.

C’est l’hiver, quelque part dans l’Idaho. Le ciel est noir et il fait un froid à fendre les os.

Jack Morton, dix-huit ans, n’a plus d’espoir, plus d’avenir, personne sur qui compter. Hormis son petit frère Matty, pour lequel il serait prêt à se sacrifier. Depuis la mort de leur mère, leurs ressources sont de plus en plus réduites. Jack n’a plus le choix : pour éviter de devoir confier son frère à un orphelinat, il doit trouver l’argent sale qui a envoyé son père en prison.

Ava a le même âge. Sa vie n’est que solitude, secret, silence. Son père, qui lui a appris à n’aimer personne, à ne faire confiance à personne, est sur les traces du même butin que Jack. Quand le chemin des deux familles se croise, Ava doit faire face à un dilemme : garder les secrets de son père ou aider les deux frères à survivre…

L’autrice

Fille d’un ranger, Cory Anderson a grandi dans les Rocheuses. Passionnée de nature et de lecture, elle est fascinée par La route de Cormac McCarthy, dont le thème et l’écriture âpre et sans concession ont changé sa vie à jamais. Le fracas et le silence est son premier roman, elle l’a écrit après avoir traversé de nombreuses épreuves, seule avec ses deux enfants, au cœur de la nature américaine.

Points forts

Un roman coup de poing, dont l’ambiance fait penser à certains grands succès commerciaux des éditions Gallmeister. La nature est en effet omniprésente et apporte au roman une tension sauvage, comme dans Sukwan Island ou My Absolute Darling.

Un énorme coup de coeur éditorial, avec une sortie simultanée chez Pocket Jeunesse, car c’est un de ces romans uniques qui peuvent toucher un public très large, à la manière de La voleuse de livres.

Les coups de cœur s’accumulent sur les réseaux sociaux comme Goodreads.

Un texte très bien écrit, qui marque, qui remue, sans pour autant enlever tout espoir.

Des personnages profonds, aux émotions criantes de vérité.

Une histoire d’amour subtile et marquante.

7 octobre 2021
Roman
140 × 210 mm
18,90 €
9782265155442
978-2-2651-5544-2
Traduit de l’anglais (États-Unis) par
Claire-Marie Clévy