Romina Casagrande

La promesse d’Edna

Edna’s promise

March 11, 2021
Novel
416 pages
140 × 210 mm
21,90 €
9782265155053
978-2-2651-5505-3
Translated from Italian by Anaïs Bouteille-Bokobza, illustration by Mathieu Persan
Romina Casagrande, La promesse d’Edna
Romina Casagrande, La promesse d’Edna

The journey of a lifetime, carried by the strength of a child’s promise.

Edna, 89, lives alone in northern Italy and devotes her time to her garden and her parrot, Emil. In the eyes of everyone, and especially of her friend Adele who brings her shopping basket every week, she is an old lady who is certainly a little whimsical, but without any stories.
However, when chance allows her to find the trace of her best friend Jacob, lost for years, Edna embarks on a crazy project to see him again: a journey through the mountains, towards Ravensburg. It will be her great “return” trip, the one she has been waiting for all her life. For she had already taken this road once, in the opposite direction, in the 1930s. She and Jacob had tried to escape from the German farm where they were farmed; only Edna had succeeded. They had promised each other they would always stay together, but their plan failed.
While Adele, realizing they were missing, sets out to find them, Edna and Emil continue on their way at all costs. Despite the obstacles and overly reasonable people, it is up to them to prove that there is no impassable mountain for those who have a childhood promise to keep.

The author

Romina Casagrande is a professor. She loves nature, the mountains, and shares her house with three parrots, two dogs, and a husband. Edna’s promise, her first novel, was a great success in Italy as soon as it came out.

Strong points

An extremely moving novel about the power of friendship and the promises of childhood.

An extraordinary story of courage, perseverance and hope: Edna is a model of determination who inspires and gives back to all those she meets the desire to surpass themselves to achieve their dreams.

A gallery of original and endearing characters: Roland the biker with a big heart, Priska and Flo the cool couple in their thirties on a sabbatical, Iron the nostalgic South American mechanic...

A wonderful initiatory feel-good trip, in the line of Mr. Zadoorian’s Cherche-Bonheur.

Press

“Romina Casagrande offers us an unforgettable heroine with white hair, a tenacious, proud and loyal woman like the mountains she crosses and who, despite the tragedy, has managed to keep the love of life alive.”

iO Donna.

“Great from start to finish. A story of freedom and courage, of redemption. A novel that also has the merit of bringing to light a true story but ignored by all, carried by a refined and graceful writing.”

Ilaria Tuti.
March 11, 2021
Novel
416 pages
140 × 210 mm
21,90 €
9782265155053
978-2-2651-5505-3
Translated from Italian by Anaïs Bouteille-Bokobza, illustration by Mathieu Persan

Romina Casagrande

La promesse d’Edna

11 mars 2021
Roman
416 pages
140 × 210 mm
21,90 €
9782265155053
978-2-2651-5505-3
Traduit de l’italien par
Anaïs Bouteille-Bokobza, illustration de Mathieu Persan
																Romina Casagrande, La promesse d’Edna
																Romina Casagrande, La promesse d’Edna

Le voyage d’une vie, porté par la force d’une promesse d’enfant.

Edna, 89 ans, vit seule dans le nord de l’Italie et consacre son temps à son jardin et à son perroquet, Emil. Aux yeux de tous, et notamment de son amie Adele qui lui apporte son panier de courses chaque semaine, c’est une vieille dame certes un peu fantasque, mais sans histoires.
Pourtant, quand le hasard lui permet de retrouver la trace de son meilleur ami Jacob, perdu de vue depuis des années, Edna se lance dans un projet complètement fou pour le revoir : un périple à travers les montagnes, direction Ravensburg. Ce sera son grand voyage de « retour », celui qu’elle a attendu d’accomplir toute sa vie. Car elle a déjà emprunté cette route une fois, en sens inverse, dans les années 1930. Jacob et elle avaient essayé de s’échapper de la ferme allemande où ils étaient exploités ; seule Edna avait réussi. Ils s’étaient promis de rester toujours ensemble, mais leur plan a échoué.
Tandis qu’Adele, s’apercevant de leur absence, se lance à leur recherche, Edna et Emil poursuivent coûte que coûte leur chemin. Malgré les obstacles et les gens trop raisonnables, à eux de prouver qu’il n’est pas de montagne infranchissable pour qui a une promesse d’enfance à tenir.

L’autrice

Romina Casagrande est professeure. Elle aime la nature, la montagne, et partage sa maison avec trois perroquets, deux chiens, et un mari. La promesse d’Edna, son premier roman, a connu un grand succès en Italie dès sa sortie.

Points forts

Une histoire extraordinaire de courage, de persévérance et d’espoir : Edna est un modèle de détermination qui inspire et redonne à tous ceux qu’elle croise l’envie de se dépasser pour accomplir leurs rêves.

Une galerie de personnages originaux et attachants : Roland le motard au grand coeur, Priska et Flo le couple de trentenaires à la cool en année sabbatique, Fer le mécano sud-américain nostalgique…

Un formidable voyage initiatique feel-good, dans la lignée du Cherche-Bonheur de M. Zadoorian.

Presse

« Romina Casagrande nous offre une héroïne inoubliable aux cheveux blancs, une femme tenace, fière et loyale comme les montagnes qu’elle traverse et qui, malgré la tragédie, a su conserver l’amour de la vie. »

iO Donna.

« Formidable, du début jusqu’au point final. Une histoire de liberté et de courage, de rédemption. Un roman qui a aussi le mérite de mettre en lumière une histoire véridique mais ignorée de tous, porté par une écriture raffinée et pleine de grâce. »

Ilaria Tuti.
11 mars 2021
Roman
416 pages
140 × 210 mm
21,90 €
9782265155053
978-2-2651-5505-3
Traduit de l’italien par
Anaïs Bouteille-Bokobza, illustration de Mathieu Persan